martinadalton

Book Recommendation – Divergent

In Books on August 9, 2012 at 8:14 am

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

I just finished reading Veronica Roth’s debut novel, Divergent. I heartily recommend it to folks who love reading YA or who just love a good story. (i.e., everyone.)

Here’s why:

  1. It has an awesome cover (yes I sometimes do judge a book by its cover!) At first glance, the cover is reminiscent of the Hunger Games with the focus on the main symbolic element. However, the Divergent cover is more beautiful and complex. Thumbs up!
  2. When I first started reading I thought, “Oh no, another dystopian society where the government controls all, and the main character is matched with a boy,” blah, blah, blah. I’m happy to say, I was wrong. Instead of a flat character who rides the wave of the storyline with seemingly no control of her own, I was pleasantly surprised that our main gal, Beatrice, or Tris, as she later becomes, is a badass girl who is tough as nails. She may be small, but she packs a mighty punch. I am a sucker for a strong female protagonist.
  3. The dystopian society in this book is so much more interesting than I had expected. Set in futuristic Chicago, I was captivated in particular with the five different factions in this society, and the characteristics of each group of people. At age sixteen, the members of each faction get to choose if they want to stay in the group they had grown up in, or switch to one of the others. Tris’s newly chosen faction, the Dauntless, is by far the most interesting faction of the five, as they are pierced, tattooed, and fearless. Because this is not a book review, but rather a recommendation, I will not give away any of the plot points. No spoilers here!
  4. And the final reason why I enjoyed this book;  the protagonist’s love interest is, well… he’s pretty hot. There I said it.

So, if you haven’t read it already, you should. The minute I finished reading Divergent, I got the next in the series, entitled, Insurgent. I’m hoping this book lives up to the expectations set by the first.

Leave a Reply

